← All updates Databricks Update One-Pager Light version
databricks Platform · Updated Aug 11, 2025

Disable legacy features for new workspaces (Public Preview)

A new account console setting allows account admins to disable certain legacy features on new workspaces created in their account.

What it does

A new account console setting allows account admins to disable certain legacy features on new workspaces created in their account. If set, new workspaces will not include DBFS root and mounts, the Hive metastore, no isolation shared compute, or Databricks Runtime versions prior to 13.3 LTS. If needed, workspace admins can still enable these legacy features from their workspace settings.

Why it matters

Reduces operational overhead and unlocks new capabilities for data teams on Databricks.

Architecture
Databricks Platform → Platform
In short

A new account console setting allows account admins to disable certain legacy features on new workspaces created in their account. If set, new workspaces will not include DBFS root and mounts, the Hive metastore, no isolation shared compute, or Databricks…

Read the full documentation ↗
Key takeaway
A new account console setting allows account admins to disable certain legacy features on new workspaces created in their account.
2025-08-11-disable-legacy-features-for-new-workspaces-public-preview Generated by the Databricks Updates Agent · browse all updates