← All updates Databricks Update One-Pager Navy version
databricks Platform · Updated Feb 23, 2026

Personal access tokens preserved when CAN USE permission is revoked

When you revoke a user's CAN USE permission, their personal access tokens become unusable but are not deleted.

What it does

When you revoke a user's CAN USE permission, their personal access tokens become unusable but are not deleted. If the permission is restored, the same tokens become active again. This article describes the how to configure permissions for Databricks personal access tokens.

Why it matters

Reduces operational overhead and unlocks new capabilities for data teams on Databricks.

Architecture
Databricks Platform → Platform
In short

When you revoke a user's CAN USE permission, their personal access tokens become unusable but are not deleted. If the permission is restored, the same tokens become active again.

Read the full documentation ↗
Key takeaway
When you revoke a user's CAN USE permission, their personal access tokens become unusable but are not deleted.
2026-02-23-personal-access-tokens-preserved-when-can-use-permission-is-revoked Generated by the Databricks Updates Agent · browse all updates